My happiness project #3

Well this really is quite late. But I wanted to write the 3rd installment of my happiness project. This month has been pretty difficult because of various things like issues at work and people getting me down quite a lot. Though there has been something positive this month. I started my Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) to help with my depression. So far it seems to be going well and I’m hoping that I’ll start to see some improvements in my mood etc soon. Also on a health note the vegan diet I’m doing at the moment is really good, I’m really enjoying it and I’m genuinely obsessed with tofu at the moment I can’t get enough of it (go figure) so there have been three things that I’ve been trying to do as often as I can to try and improve my mental wellbeing this month just because it’s been a particularly difficult one I’ve mainly been trying to keep myself busy though I’ve been forgetting to blog regularly sorry about that.

Have a weekly plan I am the worst when it comes to planning. I’m the most unorganised person you will ever meet. It’s ridiculous really. I’m a procrastinator and I’ll go out of my way to talk myself out of doing something straight away, it’s very rare that I’m motivated at the moment so it’s easy for me to avoid doing things. So this month I’ve been keeping a weekly plan of things I either need to do (like housework) or would like to do (like working out or watching a film) I’ve noticed an improvement in my mood on the days that I stick to my plan compared to the days I just can’t be bothered and if it’s a job I never enjoy like the housework I’ve been rewarding myself if I get it all done with smashed avocado on ricecake with cayanne pepper or Nando’s peri peri salt yum!

Keep a thought diary now this one is quite new and has been part of my CBT whenever I feel a strong emotion because of something that has been said or something I’ve seen I get my thought diary out and write down what happened, the emotion I felt and the thought that went through my head at the same time. This has been helping me to see how actions, thoughts amd emotions are all connected and it’s quite interesting to see on paper how I’ve been feeling and what’s caused it.

Organised my night time routine I have trouble getting to sleep most of the time though once I’m asleep I’m generally dead to the world sometimes something will wake me in the middle of the nigt then I’m tossing and turning for hours trying to get back to sleep. When I am eventually asleep I also struggle to wake up or get out of bed in the morning. I’ve spent this month trying to refine my night time routine to ensure I get a good nights sleep so I feel rested and ready for the following day. I’m not going to go into detail but if you’d like me to write a post about my night time routine please to comment and I will be more than happy to do that.
image

Image taken from “whatever you are, be a good one”

Much love,
Paige x

Leave a Reply

