In the kitchen: Mini Sweet Potato Hash Browns

Hey dolls! So yesterday I was craving hash browns like a lunatic and I realised I only had sweet potatoes so I thought why not try making sweet potato hash browns, I’ve never seen them though I’m sure others have probably made them before and I couldn’t wait to give them a go and see what I came up with. I ended up making two versions. One for all my vegan friends and one for all my non-vegan friends. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

Vegan mini hash browns

  • 1 small/medium sweet potato peeled and grated
  • Pinch of pink Himalayan salt and black pepper to season
  • Red chilli flakes (to your taste)
  • Olive oil for cooking

  1. Grate the sweet potato and squeeze out excess water
  2. Season with salt &I pepper
  3. Add chilli flakes ( I used a largeish pinch)
  4. Heat oil in a large pan (medium heat)
  5. Add the potato in small mounds to the pan, then flatten with turner (they won’t start to bind until cooking)
  6. Turn over once potato looks golden and cook other side. I flipped mine a couple of times just to make sure.
  7. Once cooked plate up and serve how ever you like. I really enjoyed them with sliced avocado and plum tomatoes for breakfast.

Non-vegan mini hash browns

  • 1 small/medium sweet potato washed and peeled
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 2/3 tbsp plain flour 
  • Pinch of pink Himalayan salt and black pepper to season
  • Red chilli flakes (to your taste)
  • Olive oil for cooking

  1. Grate the sweet potato and squeeze out excess water
  2. Add 2 tbsp of the flour and mix together
  3. Add seasoning
  4. Add the beaten egg and mix thoroughly. If mixture still quite wet add additional plain flour (you what the mixture to be sticky)
  5. Heat oil in a pan
  6. Add the potato mix to the pan in small mounds and flatten with turner (it’s much easier to. Create mini potato patties with this mix as the egg and flour helps bind it) 
  7. Add small pinch of chilli flakes to the top side of each hash brown before flipping.
  8. I flipped them a couple of times just to make both sides extra crispy I love when hash browns have that crunch to them.
  9. Once cooked on both sides plate up and serve as part of breakfast lunch or dinner. I topped mine with spinach, sliced avocado and griddled tomatoes (I used the same pan) and served them with baked hake fillet wrapped in romaine lettuce.

There you have it guys. These mini hash browns are perfect for any time of day and they’re so moreish. I’d love to know if you try them!
Much love,

Paige x

Leave a comment